Assault Defense Attorney in Katy
Assault is an offense that falls under the category of
violent crimes. In Texas, assault can range from a small threat to a violent and dangerous
attack. Even when no physical contact is involved, you can be charged
There are three elements that can be used by prosecution to charge an individual
with assault, which are:
- Intentionally or knowingly causing bodily injury to another
- Intentionally or knowingly threatening another with bodily injury
- Intentional physical contact in an offensive or provocative manner
Although many states separate the crimes of assault and battery, Texas
makes them the same offense. Assault can be elevated to the crime of aggravated
assault in some circumstances. Aggravated assault includes the added element
of the use or exhibition of a deadly weapon.
Have you been accused of assault?
If you have been accused of assault, the charges can range from a Class
C misdemeanor to a second-degree felony. As a result, you can face penalties
such as a fine ranging from $500 to $10,000. Some of the factors that
can affect which specific charge will be imposed include:
- The victim's relationship with the defendant
- The defendant's criminal past
- Whether strangulation or suffocation was involved
Aggravated assault is often charged as a second-degree felony. If convicted,
you could face between 5 and 99 years in prison with a maximum penalty
Experienced Defense, Aggressive Advocacy
As your Katy criminal defense lawyer, I have the experience and knowledge
necessary to fight on your behalf. During a
free case evaluation, I can review your case to determine what defenses could work for your
situation. One possible defense that can be used is to dispute the evidence
presented by prosecution. You can also use the affirmative defense, which
means, for example, that you admit to committing the actions that have
been presented by prosecution but that you committed them in self-defense.
Contact Attorney Mandy Miller today for personalized legal guidance from my firm.